Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can cells in consecutive sheets relate to the next row in a master sheet

Hi. I have a master sheet of customer's orders. I want to build a separate 'invoice sheet' for each row in that master sheet. Is there anyway to do this (other than manually selecting the required master row as I build each sheet)?

Thanks

MacBook, G5, Mac OS X (10.5.1)

Posted on Feb 13, 2016 10:27 AM

5 replies

Feb 13, 2016 10:46 AM in response to Wayne Contello

Thanks Wayne.

I have just been told that I didn't explain myself properly 😟

I have a master sheet of customer's orders, each row details the customer's name address and order details.

I then have a separate sheet used as an invoice and cells in that sheet link to the first row in the master sheet.

I want to add x number of sheets (i.e. one sheet for each row of the master) so that each invoice has the correct information from each row of the master.

Feb 14, 2016 5:01 AM in response to Barcodelabel

Hi Barcodelabel,

To use the functions that Wayne mentions you need to set up a relationship between the two tables so that the Invoice table can look up information in your Master table.

Here is a simple example where I use an InvoiceID on each row of the Master table and include that InvoiceID in cell A1 of the Invoice table.

This screenshot shows how you can use the INDEX MATCH combination to look up the Customer for InvoiceID 100:

User uploaded file

=INDEX(Master::B,MATCH($A$1,Master::$A,0))

The CustDetails in the cell below it are looked up with this formula:

=INDEX(Master::C,MATCH($A$1,Master::$A,0))

It's the same formula except the lookup has been changed from column B to column C.

You can also get a little fancier:

User uploaded file

The Description is looked up with this formula:

=INDEX(Master::$A:$F,MATCH($A$1,Master::$A,0),MATCH(B$4,Master::$1:$1,0))