Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Highlighting Text - Cannot use same color next time.

I am a pastor using Pages to write sermons and teaching documents. I like to review the text and highlight certain sentences, words and paragraphs. If I want to highlight two selections back to back, it will not let me use the same color. I have to select a different color then select the color I want. I think this is an improvement that needs to be made, allowing you to select the same color overtime but how do I do do it differently or how do I get the requested change in for some future update?

John

Posted on Feb 13, 2016 4:43 PM

14 replies

Feb 14, 2016 4:10 AM in response to John Daniel

Hi John,

It will help us to help you if you tell us which version of Pages and the operating system you are using.

I am using Pages 5.6.1 under OS X El Capitan version 10.11.1

There is a difference between:

• Highlight (Menu > Insert Highlight) that does not print; and
  • Format Panel > Text > Advanced Options > Character Fill Color which does print).

User uploaded file

Please give more information on what you want to do.

I have not tested this in Pages '09.

More information will lead to a solution 🙂.

Regards,

Ian.

Feb 14, 2016 4:20 AM in response to Yellowbox

I am using the latest version of Pages 5.6.1, very up to date. I am on El Captain - latest update is installed - 10.11.13

I select the text I want to highlight

I go to FORMAT....

I choose ADVANCED Options wheel (beside the color selector)

Choose Character Fill Color

IF THE COLOR SELECTED IS THE SAME LAST COLOR I USED

Pages will not put that color in.

I have to select a different color, then return to the color I want (all in the color selector box) and click the

color I wanted.

It is annoying. Why not select the same color over and over from the beginning - if I want.

Hope that helps. Thanks for reply. I am grateful.

John