Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Beeps during conference call

My iPhone emits a loud beep every 15 seconds to everyone else but me when I'm the creator of a conference call. The beep continues for the remaining person on the line when everyone else has left the call. The beeps start, and persist, if the call was at any point a conference call.

I've tried moving my sim card to an android phone - this silences the conference call beeps completely. I interpret this to mean that the beep is in fact produced by the phone itself. My carrier also denies any knowledge of the problem.

I'm running iOS 9.3 and have seen this problem persist through several updates. I would very much appreciate any help with this as it doesn't seem to be a problem that many people share.

iPhone 6, iOS 9.2.1

Posted on Feb 18, 2016 4:25 AM

16 replies

Feb 18, 2016 6:31 AM in response to IdrisSeabright

I'm a journalist and I'm normally using conference calls with the app TapeACall, however the beep starts during conference calls whether I use the app or not.

I did originally contact the TapeACall team who was of course unable to solve the problem. The app does have the built in option to emit a beep, however this beep is less frequent. I even tried to enable beeps in the TapeACall app to see if it made any difference. All that gave me was two separate lines of beeps, as you'd expect.

Besides, the beeping stops when I put my sim card in a separate phone (same carrier) and TapeACall isn't involved. I can't imagine a way for the TapeACall app to be involved in this issue when that's the case.

Isn't the company that hosts the conference bridge my carrier? In any case, that company should be the same when I put my sim card in a different phone and the beeps disappear, right?

Feb 18, 2016 6:36 AM in response to kantastisk

kantastisk wrote:

Isn't the company that hosts the conference bridge my carrier?