Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iBook G4 with weird screen problem

I've been using my iBook G4 since 2008, os x 10.4.11, and never had any problem with it. Last year, I was ready to use it and when I turned it on, the screen was "weird" (as you can see on the picture below):

User uploaded file

It still make all sounds while starting up, but after the logo, it shows a pure blue screen and nothing else happens. I tried to boot with a Ubuntu CD, and even though it works, the screen is shown divided in half and it's hard to see what's on the screen (some letters looks like big white squares and stuff). I can still access all my files on it and even play some musics/videos I have there, but using like that, it starts to get warm and the screen gets worse. Tried to buy a cable for external screen but also got no results.

Any idea of what's the problem, or if there's a way to fix it? I don't have any installation CD because it came from Japan as a gift from someone who bought it from another person.

Thank you.

iBook, Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Posted on Feb 21, 2016 5:33 PM

4 replies

Feb 21, 2016 8:29 PM in response to sonn3

You may be able to locate a retail 10.5 OS X Leopard DVD to use as a system install

disc and be able to check and reformat the hard drive, so you can be sure to have the

correct video drivers and other hardware support for the iBook G4.

Since there were several G4 build 12 and 14-inch iBook models, details are necessary

to be able to determine if Leopard 10.5 could run in it. -- If the computer processor is

faster than 867MHz with a minimum memory RAM installed of 512 MB+ it could work.

The first iBook G4 had one model with an 800MHz processor, that cannot run OS X 10.5.

(And without extra RAM, and large capacity HDD, with extra free-space for Virtual memory