Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Which macbook should I buy for ios development?

I am a software developer want to learn ios development, for that I want to buy a macbook. But I am in a big confusion which macbook should I buy, I was thinking of buying Macbook Air 13 inch 2015 model with 1.6 ghz core i5, 4 gb of ram and 128 gb of storage. I want to ask all the ios developers out there that is this configuration will be good for me because I am little short of money for macbook pro, so please help me guys. Thanks

MacBook Air, OS X Yosemite (10.10.5)

Posted on Mar 3, 2016 9:15 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 19, 2016 1:26 AM

I am not a developer, but I do know that you're going to need a macbook pro. That is wayyyyyyyyyyyyy too slow of a processor to do what you're wanting it to do. 1.6ghz is for normal tasks such as browsing. You will definitely need to do some upgrades to the 13-inch Macbook Air if you're wanting to do development. I highly suggest a faster processor and at least 8 gigs of RAM. You never want to get a Macbook you will over work, because it will have a much shorter life then if you abuse it, which is why I suggest the Pro. Have you checked out the refurbished Macbook Pros? I think you might find one near your price range! If not, save up a little money then, it's not too hard!

Here's a link to the refurbished macbook pros (these go under all of the same testing the new mac's go through and have the same warranty)

http://www.apple.com/shop/browse/home/specialdeals/mac/macbook_pro/13

There is one I see for $1,099.00 with the 8GB of RAM (you save $200 from normal price) which is only $100 more than the macbook air you're wanting. Totally worth buying the macbook pro then 🙂

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 19, 2016 1:26 AM in response to Siddhant Panhalkar