Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Should I enable TRIM? System Profile says that both my SSD's do NOT feature TRIM support....

hi!

i am new to the world of SSD. I recently bought two SSD's for use with e OWC Thunderbay mini:

ADATA SP550 - my OS El Capitan

Samsung 850 EVO - media storage

WHen I view each drive in System Profiler, each have a bug, fat 'No' beside TRIM Support field.

i know that Apple does not want to support third party drives because they don't want to be held liable for data loss or corruption. Is this why System Profiler tells me this? Or are these two drives truly on he naughty list and I should definitely not enable Trim?

i appreciate all feedback very much! Thank you!

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.1), 12 gigs of RAM

Posted on Mar 7, 2016 2:45 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 7, 2016 2:54 PM

That is not a bug. That is simply a report. Unless you are using an Apple branded SSD TRIM is not enabled. That is normal. You need a third-party utility to enable TRIM: Trim Enabler. Or you can leave it disabled. Today's SSDs may actual work better without TRIM. So you might just as well not worry about it. See Trim Talk. If the SSDs use a Sand Force controller TRIM isn't really needed.

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 7, 2016 2:54 PM in response to BeefRounds

That is not a bug. That is simply a report. Unless you are using an Apple branded SSD TRIM is not enabled. That is normal. You need a third-party utility to enable TRIM: Trim Enabler. Or you can leave it disabled. Today's SSDs may actual work better without TRIM. So you might just as well not worry about it. See Trim Talk. If the SSDs use a Sand Force controller TRIM isn't really needed.

Mar 7, 2016 9:38 PM in response to KimUserName