Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

The Mac's Spell Check — Why So Awful?

I have been using Mac's now since the early 1990s, and would never consider any other computer. I am a diehard fan.

However, I have to point out that the spellcheck on the Mac could do with some major improvements in terms of its ability to guess and suggest the correct spelling, when a spelling error occurs. The Mac really is really appalling sometimes in terms of its complete inability to guess the correct spelling.

For example, if you type the following spelling error into the Mac:

approximaltey

it is pretty clear that the Mac should be suggesting the correct word: "approximately" when you right click on the misspelled word, and get the Mac's pop-up menu spelling suggestions.

Yet in this example the Mac seems incapable of recognizing the correct word, and so does not present any spelling suggestions when you right click on this misspelled word. The pop-up menu just says: "No Guesses Found". And this is not an isolated example: I frequently find that the Mac is clueless at guessing the correct spelling for lots of words that are only slightly misspelled.

However, if you type the same misspellings into a Google search, Google guesses and suggests the right spelling correction every time.

So if Google is able to correctly guess the right spelling correction for slightly misspelled words, why can't the Mac?

Apple, what is you answer to this?

Mac mini, OS X El Capitan (10.11.4), null

Posted on Mar 22, 2016 8:26 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 27, 2017 3:31 AM

It is not a recent thing!

This has bothered me forever and I cannot comprehend why Apple has not fixed this.

It has always made Mail an inefficient program and a major PITA.

If the spell check can pick out the wrongly spelled words then it should be able to make some suggestions too. MS Word has had this ability since the dawn of times.