Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Bootcamp not booting any more after OSX partition resize

Hi community,

I am having a problem that I am sure many of you already would know how to solve. I read several posts about the subject but all of them have a different approach and I am not sure which one to follow.

I guess that when I reduced the size of the OSX partition to make more space for the Bootcamp partition the Windows partition stopped booting because the partition table changed its order with the new free partition auto created by OSX?

I come from the Windows world and if you resize a partition then you would have "Unpartitioned Space" not another partition created automatically that in this case seemed to have messed things up.

I have no experience with partitions in OSX, maybe somebody can give me hand please how can I fix this to merge the free 2 50 GB partitions into the Bootcamp partition and fix the boot option too?

Also if I can better understand if in the future I need to resize again partitions how do I prevent things from breaking again? Maybe there is an OSX App to do this in an easier way?

As you can see in the below images, I have gathered information which I read might be useful to identify the partitions to fix the problem.

I have expanded the OSX partition 2 times thats why there are 2 empty partitions of 50 GB, I would like to add these 100 GB to the Bootcamp partition.

Thank you very much for your help to fix this issue.

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X El Capitan (10.11.3), Late 2013 model full specs.

Posted on Mar 29, 2016 12:08 PM

8 replies

Mar 29, 2016 5:29 PM in response to Surferride

1. What is the version of Windows?

2. Was Windows working properly before the resizing of OS X?