Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Logging water exercise

I am new to the Apple watch and love how it tracks my steps, standing, etc. However, my wife and I spend one hour three days a week in water aerobics where, of course, I don't wear the watch. On those days I spend less time in other activities that the watch does track, so I sometimes appear not to have reached my goals for the day. Is there any app that allows you to manually add this and have the Apple health apps recognize it?

iPhone 4S, iOS 6.1

Posted on Apr 8, 2016 8:25 PM

2 replies

Apr 10, 2016 8:38 AM in response to Jim Lewis

Hi Jim,

Although there is not a specific category for water aerobics, you can add the data manually into the Health app on your iPhone. There is a "Water Fitness" category in the Health Data > Fitness section.

iPhone User Guide for iOS 9

Collect health and fitness data

Collect data from Apple Watch. Once you pair Apple Watch with your iPhone, data is automatically sent to the Health app. For example, to see heart rate data recorded by Apple Watch, open the Health app on iPhone, then tap Health Data > Vitals > Heart Rate.

Collect data from another device. Follow the instructions that can come with the device to set it up. If it’s a Bluetooth device, you need to pair it with iPhone—see Bluetooth devices.

Collect data from an app. Follow the instructions that can come with the app to set it up, then watch for a sharing request where you control whether data is shared with the Health app.

Enter your own data. If the data type item is in your Dashboard, just tap it there, then tap Add Data Point. Otherwise, tap Health Data at the bottom of the screen, tap the item you want to update, then tap Add Data Point.