Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sophos for Mac

Hi everyone,

I've been a Windows user for a long time and having a good antivirus software was always a top priority for keeping my laptop and personal information safe. Recently, I've switched to Mac Pro and I was told me that Mac products don't really need any antivirus program. That turning firewall on was enough, but I'm still not convinced and I was wondering what are you opinions or advice on downloading Sophos for protection.

Mac Pro

Posted on Apr 11, 2016 6:22 PM

22 replies

Jan 2, 2018 11:20 AM in response to WZZZ

I agree here with WZZZ. I was a Windows developer for a lot of years but when I got out of the coding game I went to a Mac. For the first several years I didn't run any type of AV product on my Mac. When I upgraded to the 2013 rMBP I looked into some AV protection. Mainly because my current organization requires of of a number of AV products be installed on your Mac to establish a connection to the VPN. I've looked at. couple of these and settled on Sophos. I go way back with Sophos when they were a fledgling company and they saved my tail twice in a month. The unified dashboard they have that monitors all my Macs (Yes I have more than one) gives me that single pane of glass for AV monitoring.

Apr 13, 2016 8:14 AM in response to Binkies

Mac users often ask what they should do protect themselves from malicious software ("malware")—often loosely called "viruses"—and in particular, whether they should use "anti-virus" (AV) or "anti-malware" software. The short answer to the latter question is "no," but that answer may give the wrong impression that there is no threat to defend against. There is a threat.

1. This is a comment on what you should—and should not—do to avoid malware that circulates on the Internet and gets onto a computer as an unintended consequence of the user's actions.