Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

10.6.8 Client on an XServe 2.1

I've been browsing this topic for 5 or 6 years now, have never found a definitive answer... finally decided to "put my money where my mouth is", and bought an "Early 2008" XServe 2.1, 2.8 GHz Quad-core. I'm trying to run the regular "Client" version of OS 10.6.8, so as to allow installation of a number of generation-specific audio programs I use. Have never had this much "horsepower" before, so accomplishing this would be "most excellent".

There were no ADM's that came with the XServe, so I'm having to work around this...

I originally tried booting off an external USB drive, that I use as a backup/emergency/recovery drive, and the XServe just sat there, whirring at me. Even tried holding the option key, but the USB drive didn't show up as an option (no options, actually, no start-up drive other than the USB)

I set up an external Firewire drive, and installed 10.6.3 off the commercial install DVD. This is being done while attached to a MacBook Pro, running 10.6.8 itself.

I upgrade 10.6.3 to 10.6.8 with the "Software Update" function, while still attached to my MBP. I've not installed ANY other software, so there are no extensions or anything extra, other than the base software.

I connect the FW hard drive to the XServe, power it up, and I get (what I assume is) Unix start up text, line by line, filling up my screen until I decide to hard-kill with the power button.

If I hold down the Shift key to disable the extensions, it boots to the desktop, but... what do I do now? I can't run my audio programs in Safe-Mode.

So... after a week of late-nights, making myself sleepy during work the next day... I'm ready to give up.