Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Easiest way to remove files

hi, my grandfather was a huge apple fan. unfortunately he passed away and we are left with 5 desktop computers full of over 50 years of past memories and his political career. Our question is, what would be the easiest way to remove user created files and store them on a 1tb ext. HD? Would time machine allow me to plug the HD in and access any file that was backed up? Or would it be best to manually move the files? I'm not an apple novice myself, just seeking a way to possibly handle more than 100 hours of work in a shorter time.

PowerMac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Apr 14, 2016 8:35 PM

2 replies

Apr 14, 2016 9:10 PM in response to Andjches

Time Machine does back up the files in an a directly accessible format (for Macs that run Leopard or later). However, its usefulness is in being able to restore files from different saved backup states (go "back in time"). For example, I can restore a version of a file from six months ago that is different from the current version of that file. In your case, you just want to create an archive of the last (current) version of all the files, so using Time Machine is not necessary. You can manually copy the user data files from each Mac's storage drive(s) to the archive drive. OR you can create a disk image of each "volume" (disk) and save the disk image file on the archive drive. The disk image can be mounted and accessed, like the original volume. Manually copying of only the user data saves storage space (because you are excluding system and app files). A disk image preserves everything, as it was on each storage volume.