Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

1TB Serial ATA Drive v/s PCIe- Flash Storage versus and desired RAM to configure.

Hi there,

I am new to Mac, and looking forward to buy Mac Mini.

I studied the difference between PCIe-based Flash Storage and Serial ATA Drive, which obviously proves PCIe Flash Storage is advance then SATA.

Two choices running in my mind:

1. 1TB Serial ATA drive, Should I configure 8 GB or 16 GB RAM

or

2. If I choose PCIe-based Flash Storage, should I configure 8 GB or 16 GB RAM,

FYI,

My work will not be from developing neither too technical perspective.

Thanks

Mac mini, OS X El Capitan (10.11.4)

Posted on Apr 19, 2016 4:24 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 20, 2016 5:38 AM

Memory (8 or 16 GB) and storage are independent. One does not depend on the other.

The memory can't be upgraded later since it soldered to the logic board.

I would go for the 16 GB if you can afford it.

You did not identify how yo will use the mac so maybe 8 GB is sufficient.

2 replies

Apr 20, 2016 5:40 AM in response to roshan_30

Illaass is correct memory and storage are two different things. However there is an area where they overlap which is virtual memory.

Virtual memory is where software is temporarily swapped out to the hard disk when there is not enough RAM memory available. If you have less RAM available then you are more likely to be using virtual memory. If the hard disk is a traditional spinning hard disk (not SSD) then it is much slower and this slows down this process of swapping contents from RAM to virtual memory. El Capitan likes to use as much memory as possible so it is more likely to cause the use of virtual memory swapping. Therefore if you can only have limited RAM e.g. 8GB you can compensate for this by having faster hard disk storage.