Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Login on NFS share from OSX 10.11, can not choose user

Hi

I am NOT experienced in this and have tried searching for answers to this with no luck..

If anybody have the patience to aid me a little that would be apreciated! User uploaded file

My issue:

I was trying to get the share working as follows:

Everybody should be able to connect and see/use files in "share 1", but not delete anything. This should require log in by privileged user. Also, everybody should see that the "share 2" exists, but not be able to connect to it to see files/folders inside.

I tried creating some shares and users and groups to test out how the system reacted to the different setting to get to understand the nfs/unix user system. Didn´t really understand this yet, it doesn´t seem to straight forward for the unexperienced..

I could at first see the server when i browsed the "Network" in finder, when i clicked on it i could choose who i would log on as (guest or registered user).

I tried lots of settings on the server side and started too get a little feel of how things where working, but somewhere along the line i must´ve added something to my OSX settings, because suddenly i couldn´t see the server anymore in finder. I tried to connect with the "command+K" option, entered the server adress and folder to mount. This works, but i cant choose user anymore?! And it seems to connect as whatever the server requires to view everything, but not add or delete files or folders.

Where is this setting hidden in OSX? How can i get the option too choose user to logon the server with again?

I even tried changing the user and groups on the share, but it just connects anyway, but only view..

I searched a lot of hours trying to find someone with the same problem, but no luck.. Really have no idea what search phrase i should use to find this kind of issue.