Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Server OS X VPN and DNS - Newbie

Hi All,

In short ive zero idea how to set up the Server OS X, If i opt for bullet points to help.

Were I am

Mac Pro

OS X Server (version 5.02)

Noip Free DNS account.

What I want to Do.

Set up a VPN (to use from HK while in China, on a macbook air, iPhone, Android Handset and Windows Machine)

Set up file sharing.

Im a complete novice so any help or guides id appreciate.

regards

MacBook

Posted on Apr 24, 2016 11:10 PM

3 replies

Apr 25, 2016 4:16 PM in response to Joneye

How much time/effort do you want to put into this?

How much experience do you have managing networks? Do the phrases NAT, port forwarding, tunneling, asymmetrical bandwidth make you palpitate in fear of the unknown?

If so, your best path would be to sign up with one of the commercial VPN service vendors, and sign up for a box.com or dropbox account. Problem solved.

Seriously, this problem is often better solved by someone else already having done the legwork, and without reinventing the wheel.

Apr 26, 2016 10:44 PM in response to Camelot

Hi Camelot

Thank you for reply.

How much time/effort do you want to put into this?

As much as it takes.

How much experience do you have managing networks? Do the phrases NAT, port forwarding, tunneling, asymmetrical bandwidth make you palpitate in fear of the unknown?

Zero, hence appearing hear to look for guidance and learning.

If so, your best path would be to sign up with one of the commercial VPN service vendors, and sign up for a box.com or dropbox account. Problem solved.

Not a solution as most are blocked by China, my core goal being learning how to set up my own VPN.

Seriously, this problem is often better solved by someone else already having done the legwork, and without reinventing the wheel.