Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Changing Icloud email address

I need to change my email address on my icloud account for safety reasons can anyone help me with the best way to do this without losing my apple id information etc? I am not very tech savvy and any advice would be helpful

iPod touch, null

Posted on Apr 28, 2016 2:18 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 4, 2017 2:38 PM

Hi Eric or anyone,

I have an Apple ID which I sign into iCloud which is working fine. We recently setup Family Sharing and my 12 year old used his email address to signup for an iCloud email account. How can I delete his new iCloud email account form my iCloud account?

Thanks so much.

Roestuff

15 replies

Jan 4, 2017 5:03 PM in response to gail from maine

Hi GB and Eric,

I see where my question is not clear. Perhaps it is just a coincidence that we were setting up Family Sharing at the time that I noticed my issue. Let's leave Family Sharing out of the equation for now.

When I log in my iCloud account, the mail icon now appears. It never appeared before because I had never set up an iCloud email address. I investigated it and went into the mail settings. I noticed it had an iCloud email account setup with my son's name in as the prefix before the "icloud.com". I suspect he went in under my Apple ID and for some reason set it up.

My question is: how do I remove this email account on iCloud email? I don't need an alias because I will not be using the iCloud email system but I also don't want this hanging out there.

Thanks again.

Roestuff

Jan 4, 2017 7:49 PM in response to Roestuff

If you have a Mac, open the Mail app, then click on Mail>Preferences>Accounts, and you should be able to disable the email account you don't want. If you are doing it via an iDevice, it would be under Settings>Mail>Accounts, then scroll to the bottom and Sign Out.