Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

my magic mouse suddenly stopped scrolling in pages

Whilst editing a long document in pages my magic mouse suddenly stopped scrolling.

I have looked on various forums on line and found no solution.

I have checked my setting and preferences but found nothing changed.

It scrolls up and down fine on the Internet pages and in Numbers and even lets me scroll through my folder in Finder.

I have tried other folders and documents in Pages and the mouse will not scroll.

It shows as have 35% battery life and I would expect, if it was too low, not to work on anything.

Have I done something wrong?

I'm fairly new to Mac and perhaps I have inadvertently pressed a key combination during my editing.

Hopefully someone out there can tell me how to fix this problem.

I have had to resort to using the arrows to go up and down!!

And my mouse scrolls quite happily in this question document!

iMac, OS X El Capitan (10.11.4)

Posted on Apr 28, 2016 7:15 AM

5 replies

Apr 28, 2016 7:25 AM in response to suebeland

Well I will reply to myself as I can see no way to edit the post.

I checked again on the Internet and came up with a site which said I had to change things for my mouse and/or trackpad (don't actually have one of those!) in Accessibility. All I did was click on the speed for scrolling and moved the arrow to 'faster' (it was positioned in the middle of the speed bar).

I then chose one of my Pages documents and, to my astonishment, found that I could once more scroll with the mouse!

Whilst this is all well and good and I can once more continue editing, I would still like to know WHY it suddenly stopped and WHY it began working when all I changed was the scroll speed.

Any and all answers will be gratefully received.