Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to do a morph/disintegration effect?

Hello,

Complete newbie to Motion here...

I'm filming a client for a hologram on black tomorrow and they want to morph into a 3D 'Happy Birthday' after their speech in post.

Kind of like how this singer morphs into a coca cola bottle here at 1:40, with the bottle being text. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHV-F_R0BMg

What is the best way to achieve this?

Thank you in advance 🙂

https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/create/extension/

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.5), null

Posted on Apr 28, 2016 6:56 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 4, 2016 3:06 PM

Are you still running Yosemite? If so, what version of Motion do you have? 3D Happy birthday effect is going to be much easier in Motion 5.2+.

In the meantime, the basics:

Luma Key the background (you'll need a garbage matte around your subject.)

Create an emitter effect -- 3D -- swirling objects (you'll need to Z-align your subject inside the "swirl")

Fade out subject - Fade in 3D Happy Birthday text (and animate into final position [I'm guessing])

1,2,3 - easy 😉 [but if you need help with the "particulars" - and you will if you are as you say: a "complete newbie" - we can keep this thread going...]

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 4, 2016 3:06 PM in response to matt_ldod

Are you still running Yosemite? If so, what version of Motion do you have? 3D Happy birthday effect is going to be much easier in Motion 5.2+.

In the meantime, the basics:

Luma Key the background (you'll need a garbage matte around your subject.)

Create an emitter effect -- 3D -- swirling objects (you'll need to Z-align your subject inside the "swirl")

Fade out subject - Fade in 3D Happy Birthday text (and animate into final position [I'm guessing])