Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is there a way to stream DVDs from ICloud instead of iTunes home sharing via my computer?

I would like to be able to upload my DVDs somehow so I can play them all from Apple TV (gen 4) instead of airplaying them or having to keep computer on to be able to home share them from my iTunes (latest version). As it stands, if I want to watch an uploaded DVD on my Apple TV I have to select COMPUTERS and go to my library to select movie and then keep my computer on the duration. I have managed to upload a DVD to my Icloud drive in hope of being able to stream the DVD from there to no avail. I don't understand why this is the case and am unable to find any resources that explain the case however, I am rather new to all of this and perhaps I am not looking in the right places. Second of all, why can't I simply go to MOVIES on Apple TV and find them there with the rest of my movies as opposed to having strictly purchased movies there and other movies else where; they're all movies correct? Put them under the category MOVIE (this is more of an Apple issue I suppose). Is there a way to stream my DVDs from iCloud instead of iTunes home sharing via my computer? Any appropriate information or guidance would be appreciated thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.

Posted on Apr 29, 2016 6:31 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 29, 2016 7:57 AM

When looking at the top row of apps on the Home screen are the iTunes Store apps.

So the only Movies - Purchased are the one that you have purchesed from iTunes. The same is for the other apps in that row.

Look into Plex to stream your own movies as an alternative to the Computers app on the Apple TV.

6 replies

Apr 29, 2016 7:54 AM in response to Easteli