Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Issue with printing handouts in Keynote 6.6.1

Keynote 6 seems to see the existence of a movie on a slide as a "build" when printing handouts, causing an extra slide to print when using the "print each stage of builds" option. This happens even when there are absolutely no builds on the slide, nothing but a movie.

I'm new to Keynote 6 after having used Keynote 5 for years, so maybe I'm missing something, but I can't figure it out.

Keynote 5 didn't do this. Is this a feature or a glitch?

MacBook (Retina, 12-inch, Early 2015), OS X El Capitan (10.11.4)

Posted on Apr 29, 2016 11:14 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 29, 2016 12:02 PM

A video file is controlled in: Inspector > Format > Movie and in Inspector > Animation > Build In

If you don't want the slide with the movie to be printed, click on that slide in the navigator then: Slide > Skip Slide

If you want other objects on the slide to be printed but not the video; delete the movie from the slide, after printing replace it again (command Z).

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 29, 2016 12:02 PM in response to ph@rdy

A video file is controlled in: Inspector > Format > Movie and in Inspector > Animation > Build In

If you don't want the slide with the movie to be printed, click on that slide in the navigator then: Slide > Skip Slide

If you want other objects on the slide to be printed but not the video; delete the movie from the slide, after printing replace it again (command Z).

Apr 29, 2016 12:30 PM in response to Gary Scotland

Gary, thanks for your reply, but it doesn't quite get at my problem.