Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I need to make tiered values for a cell

I need a formula to give me several different tiers on a cell. Specifically;

First $100,000 = 2.175%

Next $400,000 = 1.305%

Next $2,000,000 = 8.7%

Next $2,500,000 = 6.55%

Next $2,500,000 = 6.1%

Over $7,500,000 = 5.65%

I have a formula in an old spreadsheet that works, but my values have changed, and I can't figure out exactly why it works. I am an amateur trying to look professional 😉. SUM(0.75%×G5, 0.25%×MIN(G5,2000000),0.5%×MIN(G5,500000),1%×MIN(G5,100000))

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on Apr 29, 2016 11:10 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 1, 2016 3:29 PM

Hi Haddy,

Use a lookup table. This makes it easy to edit the thresholds and rates without having to rewrite the formula.

Here's an example, using the rates and thresholds in your post.

User uploaded file

INT is the lookup table.the first two columns are entered data—the threshold amounts in column A, and the interest rate starting at thea threshold in column B.

Column C contains the formula below, which calculates the interest charged up to each threshold.

C2: entered value — 0 (zero)

C3: =(A3−A2)×B2+C2

Fill down to last row requiring this calculation (Row 7 in example).

MAIN is the table on which the interest due is calculated. Amounts are entered in column A, all other values on the table are calculated. Calculation has been spread over four columns to show each step separately. the whole calculation can be done in a single column, using the formula shown below.

All formulas are entered in row 2, then filled down for the number of rows needed for calculating different loan amounts.

B2: =LOOKUP($A,INT::$A,INT::B)

Looks up the interest rate on the amount greater than the last passed threshold amount.

C2: =LOOKUP($A,INT::$A,INT::C)

Looks up the amount of interest charged on a loan at the last passed threshold amount.