Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to use Mountain Lion in 2016

Hi guys,

I have an iMac 2011, 500 Gb and 12 Gb RAM. I've been using Mavericks for the last two years. Just for doing some experiments if my computer run faster of more stable i decided to make a clean install of Mountain Lion tonight. I found many articles of the Internet talking very good about Mountain Lion. I have it in and a Macbook Pro and runs great!

But there is also news that it will not receive any more upgrades. How is to use Mountain Lion in 2016 with no security upgrades? Are Mac as vulnerable to virus and attacks as other computers? Could i still run Photoshop CS5?

Any tips or ideas on how to use Mountain Lion, be happy and not alone in an island? haha

Cheers,

iPhone 5c, iOS 8.4, null

Posted on Apr 30, 2016 4:54 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 1, 2016 7:23 PM

Are Mac as vulnerable to virus and attacks as other computers?

Generally, the answer is no, but they are subject to malware and adware gotten from the Internet. Whether you are using 10.8 or 10.11, the best way to remain safe is to be careful about what websites you visit and what you download.

31 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 1, 2016 7:23 PM in response to uzapucax

Generally, the answer is no, but they are subject to malware and adware gotten from the Internet. Whether you are using 10.8 or 10.11, the best way to remain safe is to be careful about what websites you visit and what you download.

May 2, 2016 5:18 AM in response to uzapucax

A reasonable defense against extant threats is to install the latest operating system available for your Mac. To learn how to do that please read Upgrade to OS X El Capitan - Apple Support. El Capitan will run perfectly well on your model iMac.

Then, keep it up to date: How to update OS X and Mac apps - Apple Support.