Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Numbers problem

Hi, I am fairly new to Numbers and have started a spreadsheet. In column A I want dates, with each incrementing by one. When I try to enter this, I get the read triangle with "The operator “+” expects a number, date, or duration, but cell A4 contains a string.". Cell A4 is a date but when I click on it it has reverted back to automatic. How can I rectify this? TIA

Macbook Pro 2015, Processor 2,2 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory 16GB, Storage 250,14 GB

OSX Yosemite 10.10.5, Numbers 3.5

Posted on May 2, 2016 9:16 AM

4 replies

May 2, 2016 2:22 PM in response to Community User

Hi dc,

If cell A4 contains a Date & Time value, and your formula in A5 is =A4+1, then your result in A5 will be the Date & Time value for the next day.

When a date is entered into a cell whose format is set to Automatic, Numbers will, if the date is in a format recognized as the date part of a Date & Time value, add the missing bits to make it a full Date & Time, then display only the part that has been entered, matching the style used to enter it. If text alignment in the cell has been set to Automatic, the result will be aligned to the right edge of the cell.

If Numbers does not recognize the entry as a date, it will be accepted as text, and if alignment is Automatic, will be aligned to the left edge of the cell.

Setting the cell format to Date & Time sets only the way that Date & Time values entered in that cell will be displayed. If something other than a date or a time or a full date and time value has been entered, the format setting, not able to recognize it, will revert to Automatic, and provide the most appropriate formatting.

The error message indicates that your "Date" was not recognized as a date, and was accepted as text. Here's an example showing entries of "dec 5" Sept 3 and December 1 (not yet entered):

User uploaded file