Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

It's 2016: Can we yet easily get Mainstage 3 sounds into Garageband?

Hi. I am using GarageBand 10.1.1. I have downloaded additional content from Mainstage 3 -- my computer is not so huge, so I only downloaded a few sets, like the World Music Jam Pack. Now how do I get these over into GarageBand? I was advised to do this by various online sources, but I am worried it is not actually possible...

Please use simple language; I am a bit new with GarageBand. Thanks!

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5), 15" early 2013 | 8GB 1600MHz DDR3

Posted on May 2, 2016 1:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 3, 2016 12:23 PM

you should be seeing the World Music JamPack in GarageBand's Library, once you restart the MAc after you downloaded and installed it.

I am seeing all MainStage JamPacks in the Legacy section, when I select a software instrument track in garageBand.

User uploaded file

13 replies

May 2, 2016 10:58 PM in response to léonie

It took a while but I think I have found them! Strangely, I was unable to see the whole library until I clicked on various tracks in the song. Leonie, thank you!

Now, because no good deed goes unpunished, here's another, related one:

My computer has not so much space left for sounds. Can I download more gigabytes of sounds from Mainstage 3 and simply store them for future use on an external drive? And if so, how do I then import a sound or set of sounds into Gb when the need arises?

May 3, 2016 12:23 PM in response to A. Steinberg

Strangely, I was unable to see the whole library until I clicked on various tracks in the song. Leonie, thank you!

GarageBand will only show the sounds, that can be used with the particular track - if a real instrument track or a Drummer Track is selected, it will not show the Software Instrument sounds.