Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Haven't updated since Snow Leopard

I'm several updates behind. I believe Snow Leopard is the latest update I did on my MacBook Pro.

OS X

Version 10.9.5

Processor 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Memory 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3

Now there is Maverick, Yosemite, and El Capitan.

When I've read reviews in the App Store, people talk about problems, and I've been nervous to update. The one thing that really stays in my mind was a comment that iPhoto got all messed up and jumbled the photos. I don't remember what else made me nervous; I just know the reviews were what kept me from upgrading.

I haven't loaded my Mac up with a lot of 3rd party stuff. I have some 3rd party, but not tons. Mostly it's what I can get from the App Store.

I'm open to suggestions. Should I update? To what operating system? Do I need to work my way through the older ones first?

I love my Mac, but I'm not a techie. I also don't have any Mac users who can help me.

Thanks.

MacBook Pro

Posted on May 3, 2016 10:03 PM

2 replies

May 3, 2016 10:15 PM in response to carolyn_from_oregon

If you are running OS X 10.9.5, then you are currently running Mavericks. You can only upgrade to El Capitan at this point. With El Capitan, Photos replaced iPhoto, but as a part of the upgrade process, all of your iPhoto Library is migrated to Photos.

If you are running a 9.x version of iPhoto, you can upgrade it to 10.10.3 before you upgrade to El Cap, and you will have the option to use either the Photos app or the iPhoto app. I used the iPhoto app for a couple of months after I upgraded, but now, I use Photos most of the time. When my iPhoto Library was migrated, all of my Albums, Photo Streams, Projects, etc. migrated exactly as they were in iPhoto.

I have a Macbook Air 2012, and have had no issues running El Cap. I wanted to upgrade because I was running Mountain Lion, and I didn't want to get behind by three releases.