Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why Did I Buy This?

After using Windows all my life I decided that I needed to make the switch and finally get a Mac computer. I am a web developer and designer and everyone in the business uses Apple products. There are several apps that I was looking forward to using and also the simplicity of a linux architecture to work with. So I decided to go big and get an 27" iMac and a Macbook Pro. This was a small fortune, but I thought that I would use them a lot. My iMac has been a nice little work horse even though right after purchasing Apple came out with the 5k screens. I am really disappointed in the Macbook Pro though, I wish I never bought it.

1. Base Models Shouldn't Be Sold - I bought a base model thinking that an investment of over $1,200 would get me everything I needed. I was wrong.

2. Memory is way too low - My macbook only came with 4gb of memory. Thinking that it would be enough at the time turned out to be a huge mistake. Try opening Photoshop and a browser and it crashes a slow death.

3. Not upgradable - Apple solders pretty much everything to the motherboard now. I cannot upgrade memory, HDD or anything.

4. Processor is overpriced - Previously I had bought an HP laptop that came with an i7 processor that wasn't near as expensive as this i5. Want to upgrade to i7? Fork out a lot more cash.

5. Graphics suck - Intel Iris? Try to run anything graphic intensive and watch it sputter and skip along. Want a Radeon card? Double the price you're wanting to pay.

6. Warranty is laughable - 90 days and a year? I just bought the Cadillac of computers and I get 90 days and a year? PC manufactures are offering 3 years in some cases.

7. Limited Ports - Each product that gets rolled out has less and less ports. Get ready to buy a dongle for everything.