Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Cannot log into Mac App Store on Early 2013 Macbook Pro

Hello, this is my first time here on the Apple Support Forums. But I've been on many other forums trying to solve this issue I have been having.

So my issue is, I have an early 2013 Macbook Pro with no lid and a non working internal Wifi Card. I am able to use the Macbook thorugh HDMI which is on the daughterboard where the wifi card sits. Everytime I try to sign into the app store to do the free upgrade to El Capitan it says "Your Device or Computer cannot be verified".

Now I have tried deleting the Network.Plist and restarting the Mac and still no upgrade.

I can only use a TP Link USB Wifi Adapter to connect to the internet or use Tethering to my Samsung Phone.

Regardless of what I do, I still get the same error. I've even had a few friends give me their Installers for El Capitan on USB and I get the message that roughly says "This installer cannot be verified and may have been tampered with". This has happened with a Yosemite installer and El Capitan installer. The installer doesn't quite look like what I remember, but it says "Installer.dmg".

Has anyone else has this issue before and solved it? This Macbook does NOT have onboard ethernet either, so I cannot go that route. And using Command+R doesn't work as it will not initiate the USB Wifi adapter.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.5)

Posted on May 4, 2016 11:01 AM

8 replies

May 4, 2016 7:56 PM in response to AnthonyofSCT