Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Profile Manager - unable to install the Remote Access profile in multi-Active Directory domain & network environment

Hello All,

I'm an IT administrator for a college and I'm attempting to fix what appears to be the final hurdle in getting Profile Manager to work correctly.

I've been working for a while now trying to get Profile Manager able to push device and group profiles to Macs within our network environment. I have been able to get it to work intermittently, but not often. The majority of the time I'm unable to install the Remote Management profile.

When attempting to install the Remote Management profile I am given one of two errors -

The first error is:

Profile Installation Failed.

The profile "Remote Management (com.apple.config.server.fqdn.mdm:GUID)" could not be installed due to an unexpected error <MDMResponseStatus:500>

(Obviously server.fqdn and GUID are placeholders for their actual values)

User uploaded file

The second error is:

Profile Installation Failed.

Unable to contact the SCEP server at "http://server.fqdn:1640/scep/".

User uploaded file

The Mac Server is running OS X 10.11.4

OS X Server is version 5.1

Client Macs are mostly running 10.10.4

Here's a quick run down on the environment and the steps I've already taken to troubleshoot the issue.

• The network is a multi-domain Active Directory environment with multiple networks. I'm working primarily with two different networks, each associated with one of the two domains.
  • The Mac Server that hosts Profile Manager is a Mac Pro. Both NICs are in use, each on one of the two networks. The Mac Server is bound to the primary domain in the forest.
  • I have opened all the necessary ports and IP ranges for the Apple Push Notification service for both networks on our Firewall and tested from both networks to make sure that APN is reachable.