Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Text in Numbers from one sheet to the other (via function)

Hello,

As a violin teacher, I am trying to make a recital program using Numbers. I have created a nice template that will take the information from "sheet 2" (which includes names, titles of pieces, and composer) and will put it nicely into "sheet 1." I have decided to move some students around because one needs to start first. I altered the order (by dragging and dropping the rows in "sheet 2") but the order in "sheet 1" remains constant. I checked the function, and the number of the row/column that each cell is supposed to reference changed as I moved the cells in "sheet 2."

I would love to have a solid function that will ALWAYS have a cell in "sheet 1" reference "sheet 2 - A3" (for example), regardless of if I change information or move cells in "sheet 2."

Is this an option? I have found that, basically, whatever I entered when I created the format sticks and moves with the cells when I move them.

Thank you!

iPad Air

Posted on May 5, 2016 7:43 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 6, 2016 12:42 AM

Hi s',

There's no need to move the cells around in Sheet 2. Set the information up as shown on the table "Data" on the right. The numbers in the first column show the order o performance for the recital. If you need to change the order, the only data that needs changing are the numbers beside the students whose place in the program is changed.

User uploaded file

"Program" contains the list of performers, titles and composers in the order they will appear.

On this table, the numbers in column A are entered data and are fixed in order. This column may be hidden if you do not want the numbers to appear on the printed programs.

The rest of the data on Program is gathered from Data using the formula below, entered into cell B3, then filled right to D3 and filled down to row 10.