Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Notifications pushed to screen

I just bought my Apple Watch and I'm still learning so bear with me.

Short one though: is there any way for notifications to appear in the screen without tapping on it? Like when they appear in the iPhone when the screen is locked.

I have read about notifications privacy, red dots and not having the iPhone unlocked and using (so they appear there instead of the Watch).

Thanks!

Apple Watch, watchOS 2.2.1

Posted on May 22, 2016 10:35 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 22, 2016 10:44 AM

Hi

You might wish to use the following settings. With this configuration, an incoming notification will be displayed in summary form (email or message) when you raise your wrist upon receiving the notification alert (without needing to tap the screen) and in full if you keep your wrist raised for a few seconds:

- On your iPhone, in the Watch app, go to: My Watch (tab) > General > Wrist Detection - turn this on.

- On your iPhone, in the Watch app, go to: My Watch > Passcode > Turn Passcode on (choose either a Simple Passcode or a more complex one).

- Also on the Passcode settings screen, enable Unlock with iPhone.

After putting it on your wrist, your watch will then unlock after whatever you do first: either unlocking your watch manually (by entering the passcode) or unlocking your iPhone.