Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New Ubee modem DDW36C + Airport Extreme -> how to connect?

Hello,

I am an absolute beginner.

OK, I am a TWC customer and have a lot of Apple products at home (Macbook, iPads, iPods, iPhones, etc). I just got "upgraded" to the new modem+router Ubee DDW36C and it works fine.

Previously, my TWC modem was wired (ethernet) to my Airport Extreme and the Airport was providing the WiFi in the house. The TWC rep told me the Ubee is actually a modem+router so there is no need for the Airport anymore.

Nevertheless, in some parts of the house (I live in a big house), WiFi gets sluggish, so I thought that connecting the Airport Extreme back to the Ubee would boost the WiFi range.

Anyway, long story short, this does not work as the Airport keeps blinking when connected to the Ubee by ethernet and is not being seen.

Yesterday, I tried to talk to TWC support while at work and they gave me the steps to follow to do what I want to do. I did that at home and I completely lost my Internet! Basically, my devices were connecting to the Ubee (and not the Airport) but not to the Internet. I spent 3 hours on the phone with TWC and multiple resets of the Ubee to go back to the original settings... Which are not satisfactory as I still have poor internet in various places of the house.

The TWC guy agreed however that plugging the Airport would boost the range but we were unable to do it.

Could anyone come and help me? The TWC guy was mentioning "bridging" but I am not sure what he meant.

So:

1) can the Airport Extreme be linked via ethernet to the Ubee DDW36C? If so, should it be ethernet to ethernet or should it be ethernet to WAN?

2) what do I need to do to make it work? I don't want to spend 3hrs with TWC on the phone and I don't want to lose my Internet again!

Please use simple words and detailed explanations / steps-by-steps if you can!