Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sorting of files into folders based on parts of a file name

Hello,

I have an image library I need to build for work. The images have been saved as this as an example

Dolce & Gabbana - The One_EDT_50ml.jpg

There are 1000s of brands, so I need a script that looks for the portion of the file name before the hyphen. and creates a folder based on all the images that fall under that brand.

Can anyone assist?

I've never used scripts before but any solution I can work with will work for me.

thanks,

iMac, OS X El Capitan (10.11.6)

Posted on Aug 3, 2016 7:13 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 3, 2016 4:05 PM

Use the following:

tell application "Finder"

repeat until (count files of window 1) is 0

set the_offset to offset of " - " in (get name of file 1 of window 1)

set the_name to items 1 thru (the_offset - 1) of (get name of file 1 of window 1) as string

move (every file of window 1 whose name starts with the_name) to (make new folder at window 1 with properties {name:the_name})

end repeat

end tell

(143816)

17 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 3, 2016 4:05 PM in response to Johnny Clulow

Use the following:

set the_name to items 1 thru (the_offset - 1) of (get name of file 1 of window 1) as string

move (every file of window 1 whose name starts with the_name) to (make new folder at window 1 with properties {name:the_name})

end repeat

end tell

(143816)

Aug 3, 2016 1:24 PM in response to Johnny Clulow

Replace the first and last lines of the script with that text. In total:

with timeout of 600 seconds

end repeat

end timeout

end tell

(143822)

Aug 3, 2016 3:59 PM in response to Niel