Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

BBC iplayer does not AirPlay to Apple TV since recent iOS upgrade 9.3.3. I have been using 2 iPads and 2 iPhones to do this for at least two years but now any non-mirrored content from BBC iplayer crashes the Apple TV.. Netflix still works!

I have used AirPlay to Apple TV from Macs, iPads and iPhones with no problem for some time. Recently, just after updating to iOS 9.3.3, BBC iPlayer will not AirPlay without mirroring. If unmirrored, content crashes as soon as streaming starts. All settings are correct for the network and devices. Everything is up to date with latest versions. Other media like Netflix and Filmon still AirPlay perfectly so I suspect a conflict between BBC iplayer (which hasn't had an update for several weeks) and iOS 9.3.3 (which was updated just a few days ago and coincides with the start of the problem). Has anyone else experienced this problem and, if so, found a fix?

Thanks,

John

Equipment is: Apple TV gen 3, iPad Air, iPad 2, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5S, iMac 21, MacBook Air 13, Wifi lan 12+ MBPS.

Apple TV, iOS 9.3.3

Posted on Aug 5, 2016 6:19 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 5, 2016 7:46 AM

No, I'm unable to repeat your experience, your issues appear to be unique to you and your set up.

Try the following steps, check whether things are working after each step where appropriate, before trying the next.

1. Check AirPlay is turned on on the Apple TV (turn it off and on if it already is)
  2. Check that both devices are on the same network (Settings > Wifi, on the mobile device and Settings > General > Network, on the Apple TV).
  3. Restart the Apple TV (Settings > General > Restart).
  4. Restart the Apple TV by removing ALL the cables for 30 seconds.
  5. Restart your router. (Also try removing it’s power cord for at least 30 seconds)
  6. Restart your mobile device or computer.