Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Bluetooth Interference on MacBook Pro

Hello World! It's my first time asking a question here. I have a MacBook Pro 13" Mid 2012, and I am having trouble with the Bluetooth connection between my devices. Last year, I bought an Apple Wireless Keyboard, and once in a while (about 3 times in a day), the message "Keyboard Disconnected" followed by "Keyboard Connected" appeared. It bothered me but it resolves itself very quickly, so I don't care much. Last month, I moved to a new house, and now I can't use Airdrop at all with my iPhone 5s. I can't use Airdrop while I am in my house; I tried in other places and it worked (maybe I was lucky). I have already done everything I could find on the internet (reset bluetooth.plist files, changed my router to another -I do have 2.4ghz Wi-Fi, but in my previous home Airdrop did work fine-, reset NVRAM and SMC, turned off both devices and reset the Bluetooth module). So Airdrop doesn't work since a month ago. Also, I have a Bluetooth speaker, and whenever I pair it with my Mac and the distance between them changes, the music lags, like it is some kind of interference. This doesn't occur when I pair the speaker with other devices (iPhone, iPods), only with my Mac. I'm starting to think it has a problem with the Bluetooth chip, since the keyboard intermittently disconnects, the music in my speaker lags and I can't use Airdrop. Is there any way to change the Bluetooth channel, like you can with your Wi-Fi? Is there any way to solve this problem? Thank you very much.

MacBook Pro, OS X El Capitan (10.11.6), 13" Mid 2012

Posted on Sep 13, 2016 5:03 PM

3 replies

Sep 14, 2016 2:15 PM in response to etiennecelery