Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

magic mouse disconnects regularly

Since last week my Magic Mouse is losing connection with my iMac (OS X Sierra) quite regularly - a few times each hour, some times more often - the connection is only lost for 5-10 seconds but that's a long time when you're try to work. Anybody else had this problem and been able find a solution?

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.1)

Posted on Oct 4, 2016 4:55 AM

8 replies

Oct 17, 2016 3:36 PM in response to iSilver

Hi

I wondered where Seventy One read this information about Magic Mouse 1 compatibility because I have not heard of this, and I read Mac info a lot, perhaps he can enlighten us? I couldn't locate any info on the topic and it wouldn't have surprised me if this happened as I've been using Mac since 1991?

I rang Apple Support the next day after reading those comments and the information appears to be incorrect because I was able to get the problem solved using Apple's advice.

The advice was to remove two preference files (related to the mouse and Bluetooth) then reset the PRAM and SMC (system management controller). It's been two weeks since I did this and I haven't had the problem since.

Oct 18, 2016 2:32 AM in response to Banjo_In_Brisbane

The files are;

com.apple.HIToolbox.plist

com.apple.Bluetooth.plist

You'll find them in your User/Library/Preferences or Mac HD/Library/Preferences

To reset the NVRAM, power off the computer. Once it’s off, power back on again, then hold down four keys: Command, Option/Alt, P, and R. Press those buttons immediately after you hear the startup sound, and hold them down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for a second time.

To reset the SMC, power off the computer again. Then disconnect your power cable from both the Mac and your power outlet. Leave it disconnected for at least 30 seconds, then reconnect the power cable, and turn the computer back on.