Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

X-Rite XRD Software Update (OSX El Capitan)

Hello there,

I have been having the same issue for a long while: every single day at 9:00AM sharp I get an "XRD Software Update" icon popping-up on my dock and I don't know how to disable it. This is not harmful but very annoying... (I'm running the latest version of OSX El Capitan)

As a photographer, I had the screen of my MacBook Pro calibrated a few years ago in a professional camera store and since that day I have a "Pantone Color Manager" app installed on my hard-drive (which I cannot open because I don't have the license key). I guess I shouldn't delete it, but I suspect this XRD software to be part of it (X-Rite). I also tried to dig in my Library but I didn't find any X-Rite folder...

Anyone would know how to disable it?

Other stupid question: if I buy a new Mac and I transfer my informations using my Time Machine backup, will I still have this annoying XRD Software Update on the new Mac? If so, what should I do? Delete this Pantone Color Manager calibration stuff before doing a last Time Machine backup?

Thanks for your help.

MacBook Pro (15-inch 2.53 GHz), OS X El Capitan (10.11.6), Lightroom 6.7

Posted on Oct 30, 2016 11:07 PM

6 replies

Nov 2, 2016 12:56 AM in response to caribougnal

The XRD component came along with i1Profiler, or other profiling software by X-Rite. They must have installed the software, calibrated the monitor, and then tossed the profiling software in the trash. However, that left the XRD software behind, that along with other functions, watches for an X-Rite device being attached to your Mac.

If you have no X-Rite devices, go to /Library/Application Support/. Toss the subfolder X-Rite in the trash. Restart.

Nov 2, 2016 1:07 AM in response to Kurt Lang

Thanks Kurt,

In the mean time, on another forum (photography), I found this solution :