Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Stop receiving "Your disk is almost full" notification

I'm receiving a "Your disk is almost full" notification, and I'm desperate for a method to turn it off. Every time I close it, it pops back up within 10 seconds. Every time. I'm running with about 3GB of free space on a 128GB hard drive, and I'm fine with that. I've been managing for the past 3 years with 1-5 GB of free space and I have no performance issues. I just want to stop receiving the notification. Anyone know how?

MacBook Pro, macOS Sierra (10.12.1)

Posted on Nov 1, 2016 12:29 PM

126 replies

Jan 2, 2017 6:52 AM in response to ngartke

Thanks ngartke for asking this very important question. It's been so frustrating with MacOS Sierra's notification. I mean for someone who has been managing his hard disk drive for over 2 years between 3GB to 5GB. I can see the implication of running low on disk drive and very fine with mine but gosh how to turn this off so I stop getting the notifications. I can't believe it's so hard to find how to. Please if you've found a way, let me know. And I had the warning intuition not to turn on iCloud storage optimization for since being with apple from 2008, they have never been the best with anything connected with internet services. Anyway paying the price :-D. Next time will just leave it alone. I've turned off "store in the cloud, and reduce clutter" recommendations but don't know how to turn off optimize storage and empty trash automatically. You know, these are the areas I see why people are so mad with apple but hey i'll take these caveats over the so many other problems I get when running Windows.

Anyway I hope there's a way to turn this off or maybe in a new update.

Thanks mate.

Apr 10, 2017 1:25 AM in response to Csound1