Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Bootmgr is missing...can I join the club?

I have a mid-2011 iMac27 with Bootcamp and Windows 7 Professional. It has the original 1TB HD setup as an internal TimeMachine backup, and a 500GB SSD that I added later. Both OSX 10.12.2 and Windows 7 Professional are installed on the SSD via Bootcamp. I use Windows infrequently, but I've been using it in this configuration for 2-3 years. I upgraded to 10.12.2 a while ago and just tried to boot into Windows a few days ago. This is when the problem arose...

Windows booted correctly, I logged in, and it immediately wanted to install updates. I said ok, and it began trying to download updates but I had recently changed my wifi router password so I canceled the operator to setup the new wifi config. I fixed the wifi connection and verified that it was working by opening a website and then relaunched windows update. As it was "checking for updates" the machine locked up...completely up. I had to do a hard reboot by holding down the power button. As it was booting, I held down alt/option key and selected Windows Bootcamp as usual. The Windows logo appeared and then it went to the dreaded Blue Screen of Death, and then rebooted, and then back to BSOD, and then reboot, back to BSOD, etc. I googled solutions and worked through numerous bootrec sequences, sfc /scannow, chkdsk, and even some fdisk terminal commands. Nothing worked, and then finally a reboot following a failed bootrec /rebuildbcd attempt brought up the "Bootmgr is missing" error which brings us to today...

The current situation is as follows:

-Holding Alt/Option while powering on shows both my MacOS and Bootcamp partitions.

-OSX is completely fine.

-I can select either MacOS or Bootcamp in Sys.Pref->Startup Disc and the machine will boot accordingly

-The Bootcamp partition mounts and its contents are completely visible inside OSX