Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Japanese Keyboard Macbook

I'm planning to buy a Macbook Pro this week. I have no knowledge with MacOS, this macbook will be my first Mac computer. I can purchase one directly at Apple and pick US Keyboard but my local camera store has the same specs that I want but with Japanese keyboard + I will get a 5% points for buying the Macbook (About $100) that I can use for buying a external hard drive. My question is, other than the keyboard being physically different. Will I have any other problems or concerns with it? Also, will the mapping still be the same? On my windows laptop (English installed) that I hooked up on a TV, I use a bluetooth keyboard that I bought here in Japan and I found that some of the key's mapping (i.e punctuation marks) are different and it is become very annoying. At the mean time I'm currently working as a crew at a fast food restaurant and not planning to use the Japanese keyboard anytime soon. I just want to save some money.

Posted on Mar 6, 2017 9:51 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 6, 2017 3:39 PM

Hi Omersang,

Omersang wrote:

For example, I have the japan keyboard macbook pro. Then on the set up i choose the english. If I hit shift + 8 will it output "*" or "("?

You will get "(".

In basic, the key will be based on the label on the key top.

Here is the list of key layout ( with keyboard viewer - macOS Sierra: Use the Keyboard Viewer ) on my MacBook Pro (JIS) with U.S. as input method.

Normal

User uploaded file

with Shift key hold down

User uploaded file

with option key hold down

User uploaded file

with option and shift key hold down

User uploaded file