Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time machine failures on QNAP

I've been running Time Machine on my QNAP for a couple months now but this week this error started showing up on my MBP.

"An error occurred while copying files. The problem may be temporary. If the problem persists, use Disk Utility to repair your backup disk."

I deleted the whole backup and re-setup Time Machine on the QNAP NAS. The backup first appears to run the initial backup but now fails completely. QNAP does regular disk checks and reports no issues with any of the drives. I have no problem accessing any of the other data on the NAS.

This error is rather unhelpful honestly.

I usually not bother with Time Machine and use other backup methods but thought I'd give it a try since I have a bunch of extra space on the NAS. I still have Crashplan running on my machine. I had been considering moving away from a this paid service to just using Glacier, S3 or another cloud drive service for offsite backup. Most of the stuff I care about tends to end up in iCloud or Google Drive already.

User uploaded file

MacBook Pro with Retina display, iOS 10.2, Touchbar

Posted on Mar 17, 2017 1:35 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 20, 2017 6:52 AM

(More as information for everyone and not just yourself.)

QNAP make NAS devices, that is a box with its own internal storage, processor, network interface and software. Like almost all NAS devices the QNAP box is running a variety of Linux.

Again like almost all NAS devices - especially those using Linux it runs a version of the open source Netatalk software to implement support for AFP. Where the QNAP might fall down a bit is that I believe they are not as quick at updating their version of Netatalk software as for example NetGear.