Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Not enough RAM in Adobe Illustrator CC 2017

When I try to open the project i'm working on, it says not enough RAM to open. There is 8 GB on the computer still yet only that one project won't open. I can open other projects I did but I can't open the current project i'm working on. I've tried deleting all the files I didn't need and i tried turning of some preferences. I am very puzzled with this problem. Please help me with this problem.

User uploaded fileUser uploaded file

iMac, Adobe Illustrator CC 2017

Posted on Mar 30, 2017 1:33 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 3, 2017 12:33 PM

Take a look at Activity Monitor (Applications > Utilities) to see what is using the RAM; I'm no expert, but I know that the latest OS versions will use all the available RAM to make "good use" of it/shifting it around to where it's needed and am guessing that there does not happen to be enough unused RAM when you're trying to do something in that project.

Also helpful might be to download and run this little app - post the entire report here:

http://etrecheck.com

2 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 3, 2017 12:33 PM in response to Konanflower

Take a look at Activity Monitor (Applications > Utilities) to see what is using the RAM; I'm no expert, but I know that the latest OS versions will use all the available RAM to make "good use" of it/shifting it around to where it's needed and am guessing that there does not happen to be enough unused RAM when you're trying to do something in that project.

Also helpful might be to download and run this little app - post the entire report here:

http://etrecheck.com

Apr 3, 2017 12:54 PM in response to Konanflower