Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

macOS High Sierra – Huge System Storage

Look how huge is the system storage:

User uploaded file

Is anyone having the same problem than me? I do not konw why this is happening.

MacBook Pro TouchBar and Touch ID, macOS High Sierra (10.13), 13", 1TB SSD, 16GB RAM, 3,3 GHz

Posted on Sep 25, 2017 3:36 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 10, 2017 3:43 PM

Hi, jb64, thank for your help. Your post was very useful.

But, I have some questions about the support article that you mentioned:

1) If was really the Time Machine snapshots the cause of the huge system storage, why my Finder window include local snapshots in their calculations of the storage space available on a disk, as you can see below? The amount is the same of "About This Mac". This seems not right.

User uploaded fileUser uploaded file

2) I'm not a IT guy (actually, I'm a lawyer), but, if I understood correctly, sometimes the OS uses speed of SSD (instead use memory). This action of macOS storage snapshots does not make the MacBook be slow?

Anyway, I schedule a call with AppleSupport to see this matters more accurately and after orientation I'll post the proper informations here.

83 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 10, 2017 3:43 PM in response to jb64

Hi, jb64, thank for your help. Your post was very useful.

But, I have some questions about the support article that you mentioned:

1) If was really the Time Machine snapshots the cause of the huge system storage, why my Finder window include local snapshots in their calculations of the storage space available on a disk, as you can see below? The amount is the same of "About This Mac". This seems not right.

User uploaded fileUser uploaded file