Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

FTP on High Sierra

Hi, unfortunately I'm not satisfied about the new OS High Sierra. I'm a professional photographer and I can't use the WFT-E8 on my DSLR. I've the FTPD Enable app that helps me to transfer photos from DSLR to a Mac using ftp way. But with High Sierra that app not run and I can't work perfectly. There is another way for creating a server ftp?

Thank you

MacBook Air

Posted on Oct 1, 2017 1:20 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 9, 2017 1:48 AM

As you see below I had the same problem, could not connect to transfer things from my scanner. I worked with an Apple Senior Tech Support and they had some really simple ideas to get it to work.

He helped me set up this app ($2.99) https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ftp-server/id987045856?mt=12

It sets up a really simple FTP server right out of the box. I put a screenshot here so you can see it. Just choose the folder you would like to use as the root folder for your files, then put a folder inside that folder for whatever you need.

The only thing is that you can't use port 21 anymore, so we used 2121. Then just go to your hardware (DSLR, Scanner, Printer, whatever it is) and set it up to use an anonymous FTP account with no password, with the destination folder set to the name of the folder you made above, and set the port to 2121. That worked for me!

Here is a screenshot of how simple it is.

User uploaded file

Hope it works for you!

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 9, 2017 1:48 AM in response to lore92

As you see below I had the same problem, could not connect to transfer things from my scanner. I worked with an Apple Senior Tech Support and they had some really simple ideas to get it to work.

He helped me set up this app ($2.99) https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ftp-server/id987045856?mt=12