Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Unable to import AVCHD (BMDV) movies to photos app since High Sierra update

I've been using Sony RX100 Mk2 Camera for a few years. A great camera with excellent picture quality.

It stores movie in AVCHD format.

There has been no problem importing pictures and movies to osx native photos app up to now.

However, since I've updated my iMac to high sierra, photos app no longer recognizes movie files in camera. It recognizes and is able to import still pictures fine, but not movie files.

I'm pretty sure it is not the problem of camera or memory card since photos app in my MacBook Pro, which I've not yet updated to High Sierra, works fine.

Recent update (additional update for macOS High Sierra released on 5th Oct.) does not solve this problem.

Anyone found a way to work around this?

iMac, macOS High Sierra (10.13)

Posted on Oct 10, 2017 5:22 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 1, 2018 8:14 AM

AVCHD media (including the .MTS files contained in there) use AC3 audio tracks.

Check if you have an older A52Codec.component installed in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components. Remove it as AC3/A52 codecs are build-in to macOS nowadays. After rebooting, AVCHD import should work fine again.

The third party software Perian installes this incompatible version of an AC3 codec in the components folder, so uninstalling this might have the same effect.

67 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 1, 2018 8:14 AM in response to baracude

AVCHD media (including the .MTS files contained in there) use AC3 audio tracks.

Check if you have an older A52Codec.component installed in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components. Remove it as AC3/A52 codecs are build-in to macOS nowadays. After rebooting, AVCHD import should work fine again.