Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to add metadata to clip info panel on FCP

I am very new to FCP and have tried rewording this question so I get a response.

I make a lot of movies using selected still photos in with my videos.

When they appear in the timeline they have an IMG # on the top of the clip.

Is there a way to see the actual title I gave the photo in PHOTOS so I am able to to identify different locations, people etc. in order to make the actual FCP titles for the movie?

Better still I would like to be able to see the location of the still photo.

I can see how to add meta data to the pull-down info panel but I cannot seem to be able to get a location or file name to reflect what is on the still photo when it is in Photos. What do I need to do?

Right now I am having to keep Photos open with the information panel open so I can see the different locations etc and then go back to the timeline and identify the clip.... there must be an easier way. Thanks.

MacBook Pro TouchBar and Touch ID, iOS 10.2.1, 16 GB 2133 Storage: 1TB

Posted on Nov 11, 2017 4:00 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 11, 2017 9:17 PM

A Photos title should work.

Title it up in Photos and save:

User uploaded file

Import to Browser:

User uploaded file

Names are retained when edited to the Timeline:

User uploaded file

With a little inventive Title naming in Photos you should be able to readily identify your stuff.

I cannot find a way to add the locations directly from the Photos App.

If you like there is a whole world of I.D. using Favourites, Key Words & Smart Collections for FCP X Browser use.

This only helps in FCP X itself. Doesn't help importing from Photos.

Al

12 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 11, 2017 9:17 PM in response to jakiefromut

A Photos title should work.

Title it up in Photos and save:

User uploaded file

Import to Browser:

User uploaded file