Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Pro screen issue

Hello everyone.

I'm running a Macbook pro retina late 2013 that I'm very happy with. Lately I've been running into this issue, and it seem to be occurring more and more often, and it's that my screen is turning bad. See picture below.

User uploaded file

After a while it seems to stop doing it, but then the screen has a habit of flickering instead. The "top" of the screen never gets "weirded" out. My guess here is that it might be the cable connecting the screen to the logic board that is starting to get worn out, as it's a well used laptop. If not that my second guess it that it's the screen or lastly intel built in GPU.

It's hard to troubleshoot the problem as it comes and goes. It happened just now but it might take an hour, or a few days, before it occurs again. As I'm a student I want to know as much as I can before I hand it in to someone, (I don't have any real Apple stores where I live).

What do you guys think it can be, and have you seen this issue before?

Here's a video showing the problem:
MacBook Pro knas - YouTube

Best regards,

Pontus.

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013), macOS Sierra (10.12.6)

Posted on Nov 13, 2017 4:34 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 13, 2017 7:40 AM

As you have already figured out the "likely suspects" that people here would suggest and are far from an Apple Store, you have limited options and very little additional investigation left to do. However, there are a couple of things:

1) While the computer is running, move the display on its hinge while watching the screen. Any artifacts that occur during movement are strong evidence the display cable is worn and shorting out.

2) If you can lay hands on a known-good external monitor and find the proper adapters to make it work, it can help narrow the suspects.