Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

APFS/High Sierra causing script problems

I am a photographer that uses Indesign scripts to automatically insert pictures in for school pictures and it outputs all the pictures in the correct place and then create the entire document.

Since upgrading to High Sierra on my Mac and the SSD converted to APFS I'm having problems with the order it would create the CSV file.

Previously the script named ImagetoCSV104.jsx would put the images in alpha/numeric order of the file name. Now it is putting them in an order that I do not understand. It seems random but every time I run it it's in the same wrong order.

Just to verify I went to my Sierra workstation with the same Indesign CS6 and script to see what would happen with the folder. It worked fine.

What can I do?

Here is the incorrect one created Indesign CS6 on High Sierra:

User uploaded file

Then here is the correct one created in High Sierra:

User uploaded file

If there is a way to re-write the script to make this work or some thing else, please let me know.

thanks!

MacBook Air, macOS High Sierra (10.13)

Posted on Nov 30, 2017 5:22 AM

6 replies

Nov 30, 2017 6:13 AM in response to brycesteiner

Any chance you can post this script?

It seems that whatever system call it makes to get the files is returning the results unsorted. I don't think this to be APFS caused, just some change in some routine that is being called.

Using shell scripts with wildcard expressions, such as "*.jpg", the results always come sorted.

I believe that depends on how the underlying shell works, and both bash and tcsh provide sorted results.

I also tried something similar using Python, and the results did NOT come sorted.

Nov 30, 2017 9:29 AM in response to brycesteiner

brycesteiner wrote:

here is an update: