Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to use a tick box to change a field’s colour in Numbers 09 on MacOS high sierra

Thanks all for considering this question.

i need to create a tick box that will allow a cell (or preferably row) to change colour if true.

im having a lot of trouble and am trying to use a tick box to create a true value, then intended to use an IF statement to manipulate the formatting of a row based on the outcome.

i am relatively new to numbers and have struggled to find a relevant part of the numbers doc that does more than tell you how to create the tick box. I’d like to understand How to make the tick box a functional value.

many thanks in advance.

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014), macOS High Sierra (10.13.2), Numbers

Posted on Dec 10, 2017 3:26 AM

8 replies

Dec 10, 2017 1:39 PM in response to BlackyNeo

Hi BlackyNeo,

You can use conditional formatting, BUT…

Conditional format rules depend on comparing the value in the cell to be formatted with either a fixed value, written into the rule, or the value in another cell, referenced in the rule.

HD's 'conditional highlighting' suggestion can work, but will require two tables: one to hold the data (and the checkboxes), the other, identical in size and shape to the group of cells (rows) to be formatted, to hold the cells to be formatted according to the checkboxes.

Here are the two tables. Table 1 on the left contains the data. Table 2, on the right has a single column of cells.

User uploaded file

Cells A2 to A10 in Table 2 are formatted with red fill and red text.

The cells are selected, and the conditional formatting rule below the tables has been applied.

(I used a slightly lighter shade of green for the text than the fill to make the text visible in the image. In the 'finished' view below, the text and fill colours match.)