Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Want to buy an imac, what extras do I need?

I want to buy myself an imac for home and I'm wondering if I need to get any extras like extra ram or anything. I'm hoping not, as I need to keep the costs down!

I'm looking at buying the 17" superdrive. I'm a graphic designer so I'll be looking at purchasing Adobe Photoshop and Indesign in the future, but for now I shall mostly be using it for the internet, email, sorting and storing my photos and music.

I don't think I need the extra fast processor, any extra ram or a larger hard drive. What I'm not sure about is a usb modem, do I need this to connect to the internet? I'm probably being thick but I would have thought it would have an internal modem? Also I heard that it's better to connect using an ethernet port, am I right?

Also I'm not sure what software it comes with, I thought iwork was standard, but it seems that's an extra.

Another thing, should I get the AppleCare protection plan? I'm thinking that if anything went wrong I'd probably be better off coming on here and talking to you guys!

Hope someone can advise, thanks
shell

Posted on Jan 17, 2007 4:12 AM

10 replies

Jan 17, 2007 4:40 AM in response to shell dockley

Shell, I would have thought as a graphic designer you will need at least 1gig of RAM, although with OSX the more RAM you can throw at it the better (esp if you run lots of apps concurrently).

As for a modem, you would only need an external one if you want to connect to dial-up internet. If you've got broadband you can either use the iMac's wireless connection, ethernet port or a USB modem, depending on your needs.

As far as I know the iMac does not come with iWork, but iLife is bundled with it.

Hope this helps.

Jan 17, 2007 5:05 AM in response to The Cat