Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Populating dropdown with database

Hi, I'm new to Numbers (But have worked in Excel many years ago).
I have a database with various stuff in it. I want to have an input column with dropdowns that is populated with values (or text) from the database (In a certain order). How can I do that the easiest way?
Many thanks//O

null-OTHER, macOS Sierra (10.12.6)

Posted on Dec 14, 2017 2:00 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 15, 2017 12:27 AM

If I understand you correctly, you could format the cells as Pop-Up Menu. An easy way to set up Pop-Up menus is a certain order is to list the values in cells. Then select those cells, and choose Pop-Up Menu as the data format.

For example, if you want the list to be A, Z, B, T you would do this:

User uploaded file

That gives you this in the Pop-Up Menu in each cell:

User uploaded file

You can add-subtract and edit the items in the list here in the panel at the right:

User uploaded file

Once you have the Pop-Up Menu the way you like it you can copy-paste the cell containing it to wherever you want it in your table. Select it, command-c to copy, select multiple cells in the column where you want it, and command-v to paste.

SG

15 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 15, 2017 12:27 AM in response to OscarFogel

If I understand you correctly, you could format the cells as Pop-Up Menu. An easy way to set up Pop-Up menus is a certain order is to list the values in cells. Then select those cells, and choose Pop-Up Menu as the data format.

For example, if you want the list to be A, Z, B, T you would do this:

User uploaded file

That gives you this in the Pop-Up Menu in each cell:

User uploaded file

You can add-subtract and edit the items in the list here in the panel at the right:

User uploaded file